Woollen … thing

I felt like making something with my hands. I remember making these woollen things as a child – on a much smaller scale with paddle pop sticks. To begin I went into my backyard to find a couple of good sized sticks. Then I went through my mum’s wool collection and found rements of wool to use. Then I started securing the sticks and looping the wool around the sticks, over and over again until I finished.  I quickly made an information graphic (using Kassandra Designs Signature Typeface I have designed) to explain what I did.

Kassandra design illustrating method

How to make the woollen thing.

I have taken plenty of photographs of the final product. Here is two – one is how I suggest it is displayed (stuck in the ground) and a close up of the centre.

woollen thing by Kassandra - photograph and design by Kassandra

The Woollen ... Thing.

I used purples and blues and a row of black between the two. It looks great and I kept my hands busy for a few hours while I made it.

Leave a Reply

